How to make a beaded crochet necklace!

Standard

I must confess I’m new to crochet. I signed up for a beginners class in June and I’m really excited to finally learn. My best friend makes these amazing crochet hair clips with a cute button in the centre.
Crochet hairclips  IMG_2872  IMG_2883  IMG_2884
A unique alternative to wool crochet is to use jewellery wire and beading to create this fabulous crocheted necklace! Ideal as a present or as a gift to yourself, it couldn’t be easier to make!

You will need: wire, beads, clasp, jewellery pliars

Here’s how:

  • Crochet 3 strands of beads onto thin wire using a chain stitch (I used a 4mm crochet hook)
  • See YouTube video below on how to chain stitch using jewellery wire
  • Remember to leave a tail at the end to attach the clasp!
  • After each chain stitch thread a bead onto the wire until you have 3 chain stitched bead strands
  • Intertwine all 3 strands together
  • Attach the jewellery clasp


The finished product:

IMG_2879  IMG_2875

While we’re on the subject of crochet, I just had to share these amazing crochet ‘shell suits’ for tortoises! Designed and made by Katie Bradley, who initially made them as a family joke but they became so popular she opened an Etsy tortoise shop. I’m sure you’ll agree, they are absolutely adorable!

9 responses »

  1. Pingback: Beading Is Popular, Rewarding, Fun, Interesting And Enjoyable Hand Craft. | The Art of Beading

  2. Wow, love the necklace, can’t believe how simple this sounds but looks so professional! Will have to try, thanks!

  3. I just love that necklace. It looks so simple to make too. Thanks for sharing.
    My children now want a turtle!

  4. I feel that if turtle accessories can be a popular commodity, you could definitely open an Etsy shop with your crafty trinkets. Keep these blogs coming!

  5. You should open your own etsy shop! People love crafty crochet or cards. I would definitely check it out 🙂

Leave a comment